LTCM

Blinded!

I love how events in my life lead me to more truth with God. I can look back on everything in my life and see a sermon, lesson, etc, in every event. Today is no different. Having Cataract surgery this morning was in reality a simple thing to the doctor who performed it. The marvelous tools of microsurgery made the entire procedure last no longer than 15 minutes once I was actually in the Operating Room.

But now, sitting here at home, I am learning. See, there is a huge patch over my right eye. So big that I cannot effectively place my glasses on my head. So not only am I temporarily blinded in the patched eye, but now the eye that cannot have the use of the corrective lenses is for the most part, blind.  So that got me to thinking about blind people in the Bible.  Not the ones that had miracles.  Not Baritmeus. Not the man who had spit and clay put in his eyes. No, but rather another type of blindness.

2Co 4:4  in whom the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelieving ones, so that the light of the glorious gospel of Christ (who is the image of God) should not dawn on them.

Matthew Henry commented in this way:    (1.) Christ’s design by his gospel is to make a glorious discovery of God to the minds of men. Thus, as the image of God, he demonstrates the power and wisdom of God, and the grace and mercy of God for their salvation. But, (2.) The design of the devil is to keep men in ignorance; and, when he cannot keep the light of the gospel out of the world, he makes it his great business to keep it out of the hearts of men.

I thank God that He saw fit to save me from such blindness as that. To not be able to see the truth of the Gospel would be a horrible blindness.     Rom 8:21  that the creation itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God.

Praise God!

Mike-n-Vicki

November 21, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

