LTCM

BY, or Of?

I love to teach. I also love when God births a new teaching in me, usually of something that I have read many times before, but “just now” saw what was really in the words of a favorite passage. It is at those times that the teacher becomes the student. Recently I was in one of those sessions with the Holy Spirit as I visited a customer of the company I work for. I had never met this individual before, but I had been warned by another employee that this guy was very prideful.

I was to listen in on a conference call between him and several vendors about a potential job. As I listened in, it was painfully apparent that this person was using this session to do two things. 1 – to find solutions for his problem in his factory. 2 – to self promote. For an hour I sat a listened as this young man with great potential promoted himself, even at the expense of the character of several of his coworkers reputations.  I struggle for words to describe how hard it was to sit and say nothing, but I was held captive as the Holy Spirit taught me.

The Holy Spirit began to show me a major difference between two kings from the Old Testament. Saul and David. Saul started out humble, but ended up self-serving and arrogant. His life culminated with a tragic death on the battlefield. David started out humble, and was continually humbled more and more, accepting the humbling each time. The Bible says that David was a man “after God’s heart”. David knew where his strength lied – in the Lord. So he actively pursued, or chased “after” God’s heart.

Saul was used BY God. David was used OF God. Since Saul would not do what God asked him to do, God used him to chase, and torment David to prepare David for service as King. David however, was used Of God to do what Saul could not, and would not – purge the land of the giants of the day.

Saul was full of himself. David was full of God. Just as the young man I sat with that day was self-promoting, sometimes we too can be interested in our own interests.  We are taught differently as believers.

Php 2:3  Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.

Php 2:4 Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.

Php 2:5  Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

Amen

April 29, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

